Vigan is one of New7Wonders Cities

Vigan – with Beirut in Lebanon, Doha in Qatar, Durban in South Africa, Havana in Cuba, Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia, and La Paz in Bolivia – is named as New7Wonders Cities.

“We congratulate each of these cities on achieving their New7Wonders status, and we look forward to celebrating their election to the ‘canon of 7’ with their citizens in 2015,” said Bernard Weber, founder and president of New7Wonders.

“The New7Wonders Cites will now join the New7Wonders of Nature and the New7Wonders of the World in becoming part of Global Memory for humanity for ever.”

Philippines now has two New7Wonders. Puerto Princesa Underground River earlier made it to New7Wonders of Nature.

Vigan is a fourth class city and the capital of the province of Ilocos Sur. The city is also listed by United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization in 1999 as a World Heritage Site. Vigan is famous of its unique colonial European architecture and cobble stone streets.

From a long list of 1200 nominees from 220 countries the list was narrowed down to 28 through qualification and selection process. Top 28 cities go through three phases of worldwide votation until seven cities were chosen.

“They will now be checked, validated and independently verified. Once the verification process has been completed, New7Wonders will then work with the confirmed cities to organize official inauguration events,” the organizer said.