Japan names five disputed islets, China raises concern

Japan named five disputed islets in Senkaku Island group in Japanese and Diaoyu Island group in Chinese, these are Nantokojima, Nanseikojima, Higashikojima and Seihokuseikojima, with another islet also named Nantokojima.

Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga told reporters “It’s not just about the Senkaku issue. We are conducting a broader review of all remote islands.”

“China has its own approach, and Japan has our own fundamental position on the Senkaku islands. We only respond appropriately.”

On China’s side, their foreign ministry said “The Diaoyu Island and its affiliated islands are China’s inherent territory, and China has named them all. China is firmly opposed to any act by the Japanese side that undermines China’s territorial sovereignty.”

“Whatever unilateral measure Japan takes for this end is illegal and invalid, and will not change the fact that the Diaoyu Island and its affiliated islands belong to China.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.