Twelve-man Gilas Pilipinas going to FIBA Asia Championship revealed

Two days after finishing the 2015 William Jones Cup in second place, the 12-man Gilas Pilipinas team which will represent the Philippines in the upcoming 2015 FIBA Asia Championship was revealed. Andray Blatche, Jayson Castro, Ranidel de Ocampo, Marc Pingris, Gabe Norwood, Asi Taulava, Sonny Thoss, Dondon Hontiveros, Matt Ganuelas-Rosser, Terrence Romeo, Calvin Abueva and JC Intal make the list.

The said competition will start on September 23 and will run until October 3. 2015 FIBA Asia Championship will be held at Changsha, Hunan, China.

“The Los Angeles Lakers management has allowed Jordan Clarkson to play for the Gilas Pilipinas team as long as it will not conflict with the schedule of the NBA,” Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas said in a statement. “Unfortunately, under this limitation, Jordan Clarkson can only participate in the elimination phase of the tournament.”

“Coach Tab Baldwin has chosen the following basketball heroes to play and fight for glory on our road to Rio,” the SBP added. The winner of the tournament qualifies for the 2016 Summer Olympics.

Prior to start of FIBA Championship in Asia, FIBA experts rank the 16 teams playing in the said competition. Iran was ranked first followed by China, South Korea and Philippines. In fifth to sixteenth place are Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Japan, Jordan, Qatar, Palestine, India, Kuwait, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia.

“Despite half of the team that played in the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup missing, the Philippines got a big boost this past week with the possibility of LA Lakers guard Jordan Clarkson suiting up. Their trip to Estonia yielded a lot of learnings, and they have racked up some impressive wins in the 2015 Jones Cup. Momentum seems to have swung, and things are improving for Gilas Pilipinas,” FIBA experts said.