Senate adopts resolution honoring 2015 Outstanding Philippine Soldiers

The Senate has adopts Senate Resolution No. 1445 honoring and commending The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS) for 2015. The said resolution was authored by Senator Loren Legarda. The annual search spearheaded by Metrobank Foundation and the Rotary Club of Makati Metro honors the career achievements of Filipino soldiers.

TOPS “raises the model of excellence within the military which other soldiers should emulate, representing the ideals being upheld by the larger sector of the national community and likewise highlight the contribution of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) in peace, security, nation building and development,” says in the Senate Resolution.

“The fact that every year Metrobank Foundation is able to award ten outstanding individuals for each category makes me feel proud to be a Filipino. It means that we have a lot of soldiers and policemen who are firmly committed to their duty to protect the country and the citizens, and who put their lives on the line everyday so we can live in peaceful and safe communities; and we have many teachers who are truly devoted to educating the Filipino youth even with the challenges in our education system,” Legarda stated.

The 2015 TOPS are: Colonel Danilo Gines Pamonag, Master Sergeant Arnel Guerrero Cariaga, Master Sergeant Ferdinand Cabungcal Lascano, Colonel Ariel Reyes Caculitan, Technical Sergeant Romel Bustamante Bancairin, Disbursing Clerk Third Class Dennis Larracochea Gurrea, Colonel Maxima Oximoso Ignacio, Senior Master Sergeant Romeo Castro Austria, Staff Sergeant Adriano Luzong Reginales, Jr., and Major Jonna Dalida Dalaguit.

“I hope that our outstanding public servants may continue to inspire their fellow public servants and Filipinos to always strive for excellence and work for the greater benefit of our communities and the whole nation,” the lady Senator added.