Holidays, non-working days in 2016 declared

The Office of the President has declared twelve (12) regular holidays, five (5) special non-working days and four (4) additional special non-working days for the year 2016. The declaration was signed by President Noynoy Aquino in Proclamation No. 1105, s. 2015 August 20.

Among the regular holidays are New Year’s Day (January 1, Firday), Maundy Thursday and Good Friday (March 24 and 25), Araw ng Kagitingan (April 9, Saturday), Labor Day (May 1, Sunday), Independence Day (June 12, Sunday), National Heroes Day (August 29, Monday), Bonifacio Day (November 30, Wednesday), Christmas Day (December 25, Sunday) and Rizal Day (December 30, Friday).

Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha are national holidays, however, will be declared after determined using the Islamic calendar or the lunar calendar.

The special non-working days are Chinese New Year (February 8, Monday), 30th anniversary of EDSA People Power Revolution (February 25), Black Saturday (March 26), Ninoy Aquino Day (August 21, Sunday), All Saints’ Day (November 1, Tursday.

January 2, October 31, December 24 and December 31 are additional special non-working days aiming to strengthen family ties, as well as local tourism, by providing longer New Year, All Saints’ Day and Christmas weekends.