South Korea waives tourist visa processing fee from July to September

UPDATED: Republic of Korea’s (South Korea) Ministry of Justice has announced Measures to Provide Convenient Entry for foreign tourists.  “Visa processing fee to visit Korea will be exempted for group tourists from China and four Southeast Asia countries including Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia and Cambodia for three months,” says in the website of Korea Tourism Organization.

“The existing group tourists from the countries mentioned above who had to pay to get a tourist visa in Korea are exempted from the fee of 15 US dollars from July 6 to September 6, 2015,” it added.

Also, the validity of single-entry visas that were issued before and after the MERS development (from March 1 to June 30, 2015) was extended from the current three months to six months.

“Validity of issued single visa is extended from 3 months to 6 months, there is no change in the period of stay,” a Consular Staff at Embassy of the Republic of Korea  in the Philippines said.

Peak travel season to South Korea is from July to August.

(Note: This article was updated to prevent misinformation. Visa is still needed to visit South Korea. Previously titled “South Korea offers free tourist visas from July to September”)