Senate Blue Ribbon cites 14 persons in contempt

The Senate Blue Ribbon main Committee chaired by Senator Teofisto Guingona III named on Monday fourteen persons in contempt for not attending probe of its subcommittee on the allegedly anomalous projects in Makati City.

”By virtue of Section 18 of the rules of the Senate governing investigations in aid-of-legislation, I hereby find the following in contempt of the Senate,” Guingona said.

Antonio Tiu, Vissia Marie Aldon, Danilo Villas, Aida Alcantara, Hirene Lopez, Irene Chong, Imee S. Chong, Kim Tun S. Chong, Irish S. Chong, Erlinda S. Chong, Kimster S. Chong, Anne Lorraine Buencamino-Tiu, James L. Tiu, and Gerry Limlingan are those who are facing arrest.

The Blue Ribbon sub-committee headed by Senator Aquilino Pimentel Jr. endorsed sixteen names however Tomas Lopez and Engr. Mario Badillo cooperated.

”We have 20 hearings but with many topics. If it involves 20 hearings for just one building, they can say it’s overkill,” Pimentel said.

”I think that’s reasonable,” Pimentel added.