PCGG chair, SC chief justice nominee is the new Comelec chair

Commission on Elections (Comelec) now has a new chief and two new commissioners. Andres Bautista will replace Comelec chairman Sixto Brillante who retired in February. Two new Comelec commissioners are former mayor Rowena Guanzon and Sheriff Abas. Their appointment papers were signed April 28, 2015 and will expire February 2, 2022.

Bautista is the chief of Presidential Commission on Good Governance. He was nominated as Supreme Court chief justice in 2012. President Aquino described Comelec chairman Bautista as “relatively young. He’s acknowledged in the legal circles. He has already proven his mettle.”

Before Bautista’s appointment to PCGG, he was the Chief Executive Officer of Kuok Group Philippines and Dean of Far Eastern University’s Institute of Law. He co-founded the Master of Business Administration-Juris Doctor dual degree program of De La Salle Graduate School of Business and FEU.

New Comelec officials together with present officials will lead the commission in the upcoming 2016 elections.