Senate orders arrest of Mayor Binay, five others

The Senate Blue Ribbon Committee, chaired by Senator TG Guingona III, cites Makati City Mayor Jejomar Erwin Binay Jr. and five other officials in contempt. The Senate sergeant-at-arms was ordered to arrest and serve their detention order.

Among the individuals cited in contempt were Eduviges “Ebeng” Baloloy, Marjorie De Veyra, Atty. Eleno M. Mendoza, Engr. Line Dela Pena, and Bernadette C. Portollano. While Professor Tomas B. Lopez was not included after he made a manifestation that he will attend the next hearing.

According to Guingona, the Senate sergeant-at-arms will carry out the order as soon as it can. Mayor Binay and five others will be detained until they decide to cooperate in the current investigation being done by Senate Blue Ribbon sub-committee regarding the alleged anomalies in Makati City.