US, UK, AU, NZ, Canada, Japan to deliver solidarity greetings for PHL

Six countries were reported to be delivering solidarity greetings during the celebration of 70th Leyte Gulf Landing Anniversary on Monday, October 20. The celebration will be led by President Benigno S. Aquino III at McArthur Park in Palo, Leyte.

US Ambassador Philip Goldberg, Australian Ambassador Bill Tweddell, British Ambassador Asif Ahmad, Charge d’ Affaires of New Zealand embassy Estefan Corbett, Minister and Deputy Chief of Mission Japanese embassy Tetsuro Amano, and Political Counselor of Canadian embassy Elizabeth Baldwin-Jones will all deliver solidarity greetings.

Heroism of the Allied forces led by General Douglas MacArthur will be remembered during the event tomorrow.

It has been a practice that a Japanese representative delivers an apology speech for the horror Imperial Japanese Army brought in the country during the occupation in early 1940s.

General MacArthur left the Philippines in 1942 with a promise to return. Allied forces have decided to directly attack Japan instead of fighting the battle in Philippines, however, MacArthur insisted to return to fight Imperial Japanese forces. MacArthur and Allied forces landed at Red Beach in Palo, Leyte last October 20, 1944.

MacArthur’s return started the end of Japanese occupation in the Philippines.