Philippines designated by Canada as ‘Country of Focus’

The Philippines along with other countries were chosen by Canada as Country of Focus.

Philippines, Burma, Mongolia, Burkina Faso, Benin, Congo and Jordan were chosen as country of focus based on “their real needs, their capacity to benefit from aid, and their alignment with Canadian foreign policy priorities,” said Canadian Minister Christian Paradis.

“The special designation as a Country of Focus also holds the promise of greater two-way bilateral trade and investment flows, and the designation also manifests an alignment in foreign policy, extending to various security, economic, socio-cultural and people-to-people interests,” the Philippine government said.

PH-Canada ties

“The announcement further illuminates the excellent bilateral relations between the Philippines and Canada, which is bolstered by strong people-to-people linkages, and highlights a strong affinity for principles and pursuits to promote prosperity and productivity, as well as freedom, peace, justice, human rights, gender empowerment, security, and the rule of law across the globe,” Philippines said in a through Department of Foreign Affairs.

“Overall, I think the country’s manner of using foreign assistance responsibly and with full accountability is one incentive for foreign countries to provide further assistance to the country,” Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.